Translate

Showing posts with label Book Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Book Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Honda Enthusiasts Guide 1959-1985: Book Review

Book Review . Honda Motorcycles . Nighthawks . drums . Benly touring . Twinstar . Hawk Hondomatic . Silver wing . Colors . black . scarlet red . white . blue . black wall . white wall . Dream Touring . stripes . graphics . olive . gold . orange . glory blue black metallic . Comstar . red stripes . horsepower . tahitian red . sapphire blue . Motorcycle Media . red pinstripes . turbocharged . gold wing . brown . Milwaukee . motorcycle manufacturer . four-cylinder engine . white pinstripe . Cycle world Magazine . Restorer Interview . Roger Smith . Army . Viet Nam . Vietnam . Japanese NOS parts . restoration . November . April . Winter . Summer . travel . wisdom . word of mouth . ebay . online auction . home office . web . Internet . chassis . honey . Life . twin engine . single carburetor . Japanese cycles . black beauty . old school . lights . swap meet . shopping . drum brake

The purpose of Honda Enthusiasts is to guide anyone interested in restoring a vintage motorcycle.

Doug Mitchel had had many years of personal experience messing around with vintage cycles, much is shared from his own time spent searching for the items required when rebuilding one of his own Honda's.

Days of travel & equal amounts of time spent wandering the aisles between purveyors of vintage tin can be replaced with only a few hours at your computer. Anyone with a speedy connection to the web will find sources that would never be found any other way.

Word of mouth may lead you to some of the same suppliers, the access gained by searching the web is truly dazzling.

A note of wisdom might suggest that speed is not a great motivator when keeping this process while patience is the key.


Follow my blog with Bloglovin


On the many online auction sites, Ebay remains the leader in the field & their feed-back system ranks high when trying to determine which sellers are worthy of your money & which should be avoided.

The fact that you can search the entire planet from your home office makes the option of shopping in this arena hard to ignore.

While providing you with a worldwide venue there are some who still prefer finding parts in a more traditional fashion. Attending a well prepared swap meet will allow you to review thousands of parts in a single day.

Begin simple & move to the more complicated projects down the road a little.



Warning: When buying online 'heed - watch' for the reputation of the seller. There are many who seem to enjoy scamming others out of their hard earned cash with no intention of supplying the requested - needed items - products - merchandise.

Make sure the chassis rolls freely. Flat tires will often make this a strenuous chore, but as long as the bike can be rolled you have a better idea that the bearings aren't seized in one or both wheels.

Despite the conditions of the market & your own limits we hope you can locate, restore & enjoy riding the Honda that puts a smile on your face. While the first 90% of the build may flow like honey it's always the last stretch that you can get frustrating as one particular part of the restoration or component eludes your grasp.

Life offers us enough drudgery; restore a classic Honda for the sheer pleasure of doing so.

Honda first arrived on the shores of the USA in 1959 & began selling motorcycles unlike anything previously sold here.

The CA95 Benly Touring made its debut as a 1959 Model & would be the seed from which many future models from Honda would sprout.

On the CA95 Benly Touring & the 1964 model they consist of a square headlight nacelle that carries an integrated speedometer. Four colors were available: black, scarlet red, white & blue were the choices & when selected were applied to the frame, fenders & side covers.

The only changes seen on the CA95 Benly Touring 150 was when they switched from early to late versions.

The tall light was smaller, tires were blackwall & the exhaust mufflers were of a flat-sided design.

The late editions wore white wall tires, mufflers with a rounded shape & a longer rear fender brace.

There were more than 6 different iterations before the CA77 Dream Touring model came to be in 1960. Early editions ran from 1960-1963 when the late editions took over until 1969.

The 305cc wet sump parallel twin engine was fed by a single carburetor, power ran through a 4-speed gearbox. A drum brake was found on both wheels & with a weight of 372 pounds the binders did an adequate job of slowing down the Dream.

You had a choice of four different hues for the CA77 Dream & they were straight forward. White, Black, Blue or Scarlet Red would be applied to every inch of sheet metal on the cycle, & the seat would often be finished in a vinyl that was color keyed to the chosen paint.

For the 1964 model year Honda rolled out the S90, otherwise named the Super 90. The Super 90 was a diminutive choice for smaller or beginning riders & still provided a range of features usually found on larger cycles.

Your choice of four colors were found on the order sheet: white, black, scarlet red (for the early models), candy red (for later editions & candy blue also after March of 1968).

Nestled amongst the related models from Honda, the CB160 Sport had intentions of offering more performance with less luxury.

With a red-line of 10,000 RPM the little single cylinder Honda was a lively performer for the day. Black wall tires were used in place of the white wall versions on the Touring editions.

The CB160 Sport could be had in one of four colors during its five year production run & each hue was constrasted with silver fenders & side covers. Black, white, scarlet red & blue were listed as your choices. When selecting the blue body panel option you also get a saddle covered in matching vinyl while the other three hues had black seats.

Making its debut as a 1969 model the CB150 instantly set the stage & raised the bar for what a motorcycle could be & did so at a decent price.

The big Honda's saddle could easily handle two people on long stretches of open road. The handle-bars rose up to meet the rider's hands with no complication & were graced with user-friendly controls for lights, brake & clutch.

This technique was rather old school & labor intensive.

1969 & early 1970 models found a 4-into-1 throttle installed & a headlight bucket that matched the selected body color.

1975 saw the readouts done in 10s & the faces of the gauges were dark green. 1976 saw the instruments finished with a light green hue. The side cover markings were altered for 1977 with the "750 Four K' seen in gold.

A range of colors were offered each year along with contrasting stripes to offset the hues. An insert of black was seen on the 1973-1976 paint schemes to further accent the chosen color & striping. Certain colors remain more distinctive as in the candy blue green on the 1969s, & Flake Sunrise Orange, 1972-1974. Every other year offered unique hues used only on that year with several variants of brown offered.

The CB350 Four came in between the CB500 of 1971 & CB400 SS of 1975 & was deemed a fairly competent machine by period magazine reviews.

First arriving for the 1972 model year the latest inline-four was a nice addition for those who sought a slightly smaller machine that could still perform.

An MSRP of about $1100 was a nice entry point for a smaller machine that delivered such terrific numbers.

Produced for three years, the only alterations during that run were in the available colors along with stripes & graphics found on the side covers.

The palettes of early 1970s were getting a bit unusual for all manufacturers of cycles & cars & the candy bacchus olive used on the '72 perfect example. Not as bland as the Gold used on appliances, the yellow & white stripes offset the medium olive hue to a T.

The first two years of production for t5he CB350 Four listed candy bacchus olive & flake matador red as your options for paint. Accepting your choice of base color were stripes of yellow & white consisted of "350 Four" finished in red & white for 1972 & 73. The final year of the CB350 Four listed only glory blue black metallic with tank stripes of gold. Badges on the side covers were dressed in orange & white.

Joining the standard K model in 1975 were the F, or Super Sport editions in the SOHC CB750. They were built in far fewer numbers so finding a clean example for your restoration will be a bit more daunting as will replacement parts.

Doug having owned & restored a 1977 F model had fun doing the work but barely broke even upon the sale of his black beauty.

For the 1977 & 1978 models several cosmetic changes were seen. The engine cases & lower fork less were finished in black with polished covers on the motor. The earlier spoked wheels were supplanted by Honda's new Comstar, five-spoke alley rims & a second disc brake was found at the front.

For the 1979 model year the debut of the massive CBX which set new standards for complexity & performance. In contrast to that newborn bike, the CM185 Twinstar remained in the books.

Not every rider was capable or interested in riding a machine of the CBXs dimensions, leaving room for smaller models. Many buyers were first-timers or simply seeking a method of making short trips around their hones, not travelling across the country.

Slowed by a pair of drum brakes meant you'd be sure to stop eventually but panic stops took years off of your life in most cases.

With only two years of production to its name the CM185 Twinstar didn't offer any vast changes from one year to the next. The CM185 was offered in the same two color choices for both years. Candy antares red or candy sword blue were your options. Stripes found on the fuel tank & side covers of the 1978 editions were white, gold & black with a "Twinstar" decal in white on the side covers. 1979 models used gold pin-stripes to accent the wider red stripe. The "Twinstar" label was now applied in gold to compliment the stripes. No mechanical alterations were made.

If one can be found that remains in original trim you'll be pleased with the great fuel economy & the entertainment provided when riding.

The 1978 CB400 Hawk Hondomatic appeared to be the only version of that combination although similar designs would follow shortly.

Honda's 395cc engine was found in the frame of the Hondamatic with twenty-seven horsepower on tap, & chain drive to the rear wheel.

Being built for only one year there were obviously no changes.

The 1978 CB400A Hawk was offered in two colors for the year, tahitian red or candy sapphire blue being listed. Regardless of the color chosen accent stripes were applied in black & orange & found on the tank & side covers.

Besting the debut of the CB900F by one model year, the CB900C first appeared as a 1980 model.

The engine produced 95 horsepower, which for the day was nearing the upper end of what was being sold else-where.

Comstar wheels were found at both ends & two-tone paint schemes were applied on the 1981 & '82 iterations.

Wearing a price tag of $3498 was not the most expensive bike on the market but was miles from being the least expensive.

For the price of admission the CB900C offered a high amount of comfort & features all dressed in an elegant set of sheet metal.

Sold for three years, the CB900C may not have dazzled the motorcycle media of the day, but Doug owning one himself can attest to the overall ease of use & rapid acceleration when the right grip was twisted.

For the 1980 & '81 models the engine was finished in its natural state with the typical use of chrome covers for the clutch & electrics.

The 1980 variants were sold in two colors but each was a monotone design. Candy Muse Red or Candy Poseidon Blue being listed & either came with gold & red pinstripes.

The 1981 CB900C was sold in your choice of two different two-tone schemes. Candy Muse Red was teamed with Brown Metallic or Cosmo Black Metallic was mated to blue Metallic.

The two-tone effect was applied on the fuel tank & side covers.

1982 found the CB900C fitted with an engine finished in mostly black with valve covers & case covers of silver.

The front rotors were now slotted with dual-piston calipers for improved braking power.

Colors for the '82s were Candy Muse Red & Candy Antares Red or Candy Empire blue to offset the base color.

The turbocharged CX500TC was sold for 1982 only.

The success of their GL100 Gold Wing prompted Honda to build a smaller version of the 'Wing-One that would first appear as a 1981 model.

The new GL500 Silver Wing & Silver Wing Interstate used the same V-twin motor found in the CX500 series, but added a long comfort.

The better dressed GL500 silver Wing Interstate came with a second rotor & caliper on the front.

For 1981 Candy Muse Red or Cosmo Black Metallic were offered while the same red hue was seen alongside the sterling silver metallic in 1982. The same color choices were seen for the Interstate editions as were offered on the base Silver Wing.

When searching for either the base GL500 or the added comfort of the Interstate edition take care to make sure every section of the modular seating is still on hand as locating OEM replacements will prove to be a real challenge.

The larger displacement models of 1983 are a one-year only model making these unique parts tougher items to find.

Early in the 1980s a certain motorcycle manufacturer in Milwaukee started to complain that they couldn't compete with Japanese cycles of more than 700 cc.

In an effort to expand their offerings in the new class Honda produced the CB700SC Nighthawk S.

Powered by an inline four-cyclinder engine that displaced 696 cc, the Nighthawk was also fitted with some features that would set it apart from others in the new 700 cc family.

The "s" in the name referred to the sporty nature of the new model & reviews at the time spoke highly of the approach even though the shaft drive flew in the face of sport bike convention.

Having six speeds on taps also allowed the rider to stay within the hot zone of the ORPM range with ease.

The engine was nearly a total black out for the first two years & all hints of silver were missing on the 1986 editions.

The CB700SC was a great performer, when new & remains so today.

For 1984 & '85 the color choices were black & blue or black & red. 1984 saw the colored panels outlined with stripes of the same hue while the 1985 version had a white pinstripe to separate the color from the black.

The engines of the 1984 & '85 models featured silver accents on the cooling fins, valve covers & side covers on the clutch & electronics side.

For 1986 the colors on the sheet metal were trumped up to black with your choice candy alamoana red or candy aleutian blue. Those units finished with red panels had accent stripes or orange while the blue versions had a red stripe. The 1986 editions also had red stripes & all related components finished in pure black. The wheels also were finished in an all black motif which added a hint of sinister to the bike.

the factory exhaust was a four-into-two affair & finished in black chrome & as with most cycles, replacements are a rare find.

Sharing a few words from the Book Interview with Restorer Roger Smith .....

The criteria that Mr. Smith uses when selecting a cycle to restore, consist of bikes that he wanted from the past or those he owned but had to sell when entering the Army during Viet Nam (Vietnam).

Vintage Japanese parts are still available but in limited supply. Do your best to find them now & it will make it much easier than waiting a few years just to find the shelf is bare.

They typically decide on a restoration project in late summer. That gives them several months to find a bike before the winter in this part of the U.S. take over. Then from November through April they can bring the bike back to life taking around six months to roll out the latest project just as winter is ending.

In 2008 Cycle World Magazine chose their Yamaha Big Bear Scrambler as their restoration award winner at the AMA Invitation Concourse in Ohio. There's lots of time for restoration when it's five below zero in January!

Mr. Smith's son-in-law, Matt Tate helps whenever he can. There is nothing like having two sets of hands when you are installing an engine forks or a stubborn set of swing arm bearings on a 1969 Suzuki Titan. It's also nice to have someone who has skills you do not have, like wiring, or meticulous polishing.

Too many folks have began a restoration not realizing how complicated a multi-cylinder four stroke engine is.

Begin simple & move to the more complicated projects down the road a little.

I received a complimentary copy of Honda Enthusiasts from Car Tech to review.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

07 Review Excerpts: Be Informed! Possible Disasters

Sharing from a book I reviewed in 2007.

If you or your child/children need professional counseling - do not be ashamed to seek help.

Be Informed! The first step is finding out what could happen. Once you have determined possible events, & their potential community, it is important that you discuss them with your family. Then a plan should follow for disasters.

Discuss the types of disasters that are most likely to happen. Explain what to do in each case. Just in case you do not seek - seek what to do.

Pick two places to meet: (1) right outside your home in case of a sudden emergency, (2) outside your neighborhood in case you can not return home. Everyone must know the address & phone number.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin



Ask an out-of-state friend to be your "family contact." After a disaster, it's often easier to call long-distance. Other family members should call this person & tell them where they are. Everyone must know your contact's phone number.

Discuss what to do in and evacuation. Plan how to take care of your pets.

Write down all of these contact numbers & information on the family emergency contact card.


I received a complimentary copy of 'What's In The Bible for Women' (this book) for review from Bethany Publishing.

The author & general editor are Georgia Curtis Lang & Dr. Larry Richards.

Georgia is a best-selling author. She graduated from Kentucky Christian University with a major in Bible in 1979. She & her husband, have one son & live in a log cabin in Kentucky.

Dr. Richards was converted in the Navy in the 1950's. He has written Sunday School Curriculum for every age group. He has published more than two hundred books, & his books have been translated into some twenty-six languages. His wife, Sue, is also an author. He is a native of Michigan & now lives in North Carolina.

Recommended Basic Emergency Supply: Review Excerpt 07

Sharing from a book I reviewed in 2007.

If you need professional counseling or your child/children - do not be ashamed to seek them.

What You Can Do:

Recommended items to include in a basic emergency supply include:

Water, 1 gallon of water per person per day for at least 3 days, for drinking & sanitation

Food, at least a 3-day supply of nonperishable food

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


Battery-powered or hand-crank radio & an NOAA weather radio with tone alert & extra batteries for both

Flashlight & extra batteries

First-aid kit

Whistle to signal for help

Dust mask, to help filter contaminated air, & plastic sheeting & duct tape to shelter-in-place

Moist towelettes, garbage bags, & plastic ties for personal sanitation

Wrench or pliers to turn off utilities

Can opener for food

Local maps




Additional items to consider adding to an emergency supply kit includes:

Prescription medications & glasses

Infant formula & diapers

Pet food & extra water for your pet

Important family documents, identification, & bank account records in a waterproof, portable container

Cash or travelers check & change

Emergency reference material such as a first-aid book

Sleeping bag or warm blanket for each person

Complete change of clothing, including a long-sleeved shirt, pants, & sturdy shoes

Household chlorine beach & medicine dropper (when diluted 9 parts waters to 1 part bleach, the mixture can be used as a disinfectant, or, in an emergency, you can use it to treat water by using 16 drops if regular household bleach per gallon of water)

Fire extinguisher

Matches in a waterproof container

Feminine supplies & personal hygiene items

Mess kits, paper cups & plates, plastic utensils, paper towels

Paper & pencils

Books, games, puzzles, or other activities for children


I was sent a complimentary copy of 'What's in the Bible for Women' for review from Bethany Publishing.

Georgia Curtis Lange & Dr. Larry Richards are the author & general editor of this book.

Georgia is a bestselling author. she graduated from Kentucky Christian University with a major in Bible in 1979. She and her husband, Phil, have one son & live in a log cabin in Kentucky.

Dr. Richards was converted in the Navy in the 1950's. He has taught and written Sunday School Curriculum for every age group. He has publised more than two hundred books, & his books have been translated into some twenty-six languages.

Children & Disaster . Prepare . Emotions: Review Excerpt

Sharing from a book I reviewed in 2007.

If you are your child/children need professional counseling - do not be ashamed to seek them.

What You Can Do:

Talk with your child/children before an emergency occurs. Reassure them with the following:

1. Disasters do not last very long. Soon things will be back to normal.

2. You can get a new routine if you can not go home for a while. You will settle down into a new place, & you will can/can meet new friends.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

(Angela's tips: Watch the people you & your child/children take up with as friends)


3. Look to your parents or trusted adults for help when you feel scared or confused. They will help you understand what is happening. Do not be afraid to ask questions such as 'How long will be in a shelter?' & "When will we go back to school or home?'




4. Sometimes it will or can help to write about your experiences or to draw pictures about what has happened. You can describe what happened & how you feel.

5. It's okay to cry during a disaster, but remember, it will get better.

6. You may be able to help out. Children of all ages can/might be able to help in the shelter by baby-sitting other children or cleaning up or serving food. You can even help with sandbagging.

Angela;s Tips: Keep a close eye on your child/children during stressful times as well. Do your best to focus - keep a level head,

I was sent a complimentary copy of 'What's in the Bible for Women' for review from Bethany Publishing.

Georgia Curtis Lang & Dr. Larry Richards are the author & general editor of this book.

Georgia is a bestselling author. She graduated from Kentucky Christian University with a major in Bible in 1979. She & her husband, Phil, have one son & live in a log cabin in Kentucky.

Dr. Richards was converted while in the Navy in the late 1950's. He has taught & written Sunday School Curriculum for every age group. He has published more than two hundred books, & his books has been translated into some twenty-six languages. His wife, Sue,, is an author.

Proverbs/Mishle 22:3 ... Pray . Plan: Review Excerpt

Sharing from a book I reviewed in 2007.

If you or your child/children need counseling seek a professional or the angel(Leader/Christian Leader) of your local Church.

Proverbs/Mishle 22:3 ... A prudent man sees danger & takes refuge, but the simple keep going & suffer for it.

Emergencies come in all different forms, including natural disasters & terrorist attacks. We've all seen the total destruction & devastation of both in recent years. This book 'What's in the Bible for Women' says that we need to prepare for & respond to potential emergencies.


Follow my blog with Bloglovin




'What's in the Bible for Women' shares about The U.S. Department of Homeland Security: The U.S. Department of Homeland Security advises that we should have some basic supplies on hand in order to survive for at least 3 days if an emergency occurs. This book encourages to make this a high priority for families before disaster before it strikes.

I received a complimentary copy of this book 'What;s in the Bible for Women' from Bethany Publishing for review.

Georgia Ling Curtis & Dr. Larry Richards are the author & general editor.

Georgia is a bestselling author & well-liked speaker who touches the heart & tickles the funny bone as she writes about faith, love & life. She graduated from Kentucky Christian University in Bible in 1979. She & her husband, Phil, have one son & live in a log cabin in Kentucky.

Dr. Richards was converted in the Navy in the 1950's. He has taught & written Sunday School curriculum for every age group. He has published more than two hundred books, & his books have been translated into some twenty-six languages. He is a native of Michigan & lives in North Carolina. His wife, Sue, is also an author.

Monday, April 14, 2014

Strength for the Storm . God's Comfort & Power ... Review Excerpt

Sharing excerpts from a book I reviewed in 2007.

Verdell Davis:

When a storm comes along if sufficient force to wipe out our livelihood, our health, our most treasured relationship, or perhaps our lifelong dreams, & we are left standing in the rubble of our shattered lives, we are in many ways reduced to infancy. So much has been lost & so much changed that we must essentially start over again. We must begin to walk before we can think about running or soaring. Indeed, we need help just to be able to stay on our feet.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


What You Can Do:

Georgia's list of simple acts of kindness:

1. Send a card with encouraging words.

2. Prepare a tray of food for quick bites.

3. Offer to watch the children. (Angela's advice: watch who you allow to be over your child/children - make sure you know them)

4. Pick up some groceries.

5. Make phone calls.

6. Smile and wave.

7. Let a car go in front of you in a traffic tie-up.

8. Hold the door open for someone.





God's Almighty Power:

HE who wells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, 'HE is my refuge & my fortress, my God, in whom I trust. (Psalm/Tehillim 91:1-2)

Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, & is, to come. (Revelation 4:8)


God's Comfort:

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. (Matthew 5:4)

Praise be to the God & father or our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion & the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. (II Corinthians 1:3-4)

Even though I walk through the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me, your rod & your staff, they comfort me. (Psalm/Tehillim 23:4)


Bethany House Publishing sent me a complimentary copy for review.

The author & general editor of 'What's in the Bible for Women' was written by Georgia Curtis Ling & Dr. Larry Richards.

Georgia is a bestselling author, a well-liked speaker who touches the heart & tickles the funny bone as she writes about faith, love, & life. She graduated from Kentucky Christian University with a major in Bible in 1979.

Dr. Richards was converted while in the Navy in the 1950's. He has taught & written Sunday School Curriculum for every age group. He has published more than two hundred books, & his books have been translated into some twenty-six languages. He is a native of Michigan, & lives in North Carolina. His wife, Sue, is also an author.












































Monday, February 3, 2014

DaVinci Code Breaker: Book Review 2007

DaVinic Code Breaker: Book Review - 2007

I reviewed this book February 14, 2007.

I personally recommend each Bible Student to have the following books in their library: Vine's Expository Dictionary of Old & New Testament Words by W. E. Vine, The Strongest Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by James Strong, LL.D., S.T.D. and The New Compact Bible Dictionary by Zondervan Publishing House.

A.D. - Abbreviation for the Latin Anno Domini.

Adonai - The Jews used Adonai as a substitute for God's name, which they fervently believed should be reverened by not being spoken aloud.

apostle - From Greek apostolos, meaning "commissioned one" or "the one sent." The orginal twelve (Matthew 10:2 - 4; Mark 3:16 - 19; Luke 6:12 - 16).

After Judas Iscariot betrayed Jesus, Matthias replaced him as the twelfth apostle (Acts 1: 21-26). Paul of Tarsus, once known as Saul, later became an apostle through special commission from Jesus (I Cor. 15:9 - 10; Gal. 1:1).

Aramaic - was one of the languages Jesus spoke (Mark 5:41).

B.C. - Abbreviation for "Before Christ" - a calendar designation intended to represent the years before the birth of Jesus.

Bible - There are sixty-six books, writing that provide believers with an awe-inspiring record of God's nature and character. The Bible has withstood the most overwhelming scrutiny. The Old Testament authors allude to a new "covenant" (agreement or contract) that was later revealed through Jesus Christ (Jer. 31:31- 34); the New Testament confirms the full authenticity and dependability of the Old (John 10:35; 2 Tim. 3:14-16) and asserts its own authority (I Tim 5:18 - Luke 10:7 as Scripture; see also 2 Peter 3:15 - 16).

Christ - From Greek Christos, "anointed one."

Cross - The New Testament accounts say that Jesus was crucified on a stauros (Greek: "cross" or execution stake).

disciple - English translation of the Greek mathetes, "learner" or "follower." Jesus defined a disciple's calling in this way: "If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me" (Mark 8:34).

Elohim - Hebrew title for God. Plural.

Eve - First female in creation (Gen. 1 - 3); "the mother of all living."

Jehovah - Because they viewed YHWH, God's personal name, as too holy to be spoken, the Jewish people substitued Adonai ("Lord") for it, even using the vowels from Adonai when writing YHWH.

Jesus as Son of God - Throughout the New Testament, Jesus is "the Son of God" (Matthew 4:3 - 6; 14:33; Mark 1:1; 3:11; Luke 4:41; 22:70; John 1:34; 20:31), referring to Jesus divine origin and messianic identity (Luke 1:35).

The Last Supper - The Passover Meal that Jesus shared with his disciples prior to his arrest and crucifixion (Mark 14:12 - 25, Matthew 26:17 - 29, and Luke 22: 7 - 23).

The second description of the Passover Meal is found in John's gospel (13:21 - 30).

Mary, Mother of Jesus - The angel Gabriel refers to Mary as "highly favored" (Luke 1:29); she was present when Jesus was crucified (John 19:25), and she was with the disciples (Acts 1:14) after the ascension, following the resurrection.

Pentateuch - Refers to the Old Testament's first five books - Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. Likewise known as the Torah.

Sabbath - From Hebrew shabbot, "rest" seventh day of the week (Gen 2:1 - 3; Ex. 20:8 - 11). Christians worship on "the Lord's Day," referring to the week's first day, the day of the Lord's resurrection (Matthew 28:1; Mark 16:2; Luke 24:1; John 20:1).

Torah - Hebrew "Instruction" or "Law," the first five books of the Old Testament. Also known as the Pentateuch.

YHWH - Hebrew; personal name of God; also known as the Tetragrammaton. Israel viewed this name as too holy, to be spoken, so when reading the Scriptures, they substituted Adonai for YHWH.





If Jesus is not divine, then he could not have paid for our sins and our faith is in vain.... D. James Kennedy, Ph D., Senior Minister, Coral Ridge Presbyterian Church

The Authors:

Dr. Jim Garlow, has Master's degrees from Princeton Theological Seminary and Asbury Theological Seminary and a PhD in historical theology from Drew University.

Timothy Paul Jones, has a doctorate in educational leadership from the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.

April Williams, holds a Master's in theological studies from the Divinity School of Duke University. She is currently working on her PhD in early modern European history at the University of Mississippi.

Saturday, February 1, 2014

Letter From God: Book Review 2002 - 2004

Excerpts from a Book I Reviewed between 2002 - 2004...

By: Angela Watkins

Let us pray for all leaders, presidents and kings where we may lead a peaceable and quiet life.

On a serious note make sure you do know who your Heavenly Father is.....

By: Angela Doreathy Glass Watkins Bring every big and little thing to God in prayer for help, advice, or sharing your joy! Our Heavenly Father loves us. Sharing a note from a book I have reviewed.

Shared by Angela Doreathy Glass Watkins

Letter From God .....

My Precious Daughter,

I can't wait to hear from you! You are the joy of My heart! I created you to have fellowship with Me, and I love your company when you pray to Me.


You are so important to Me that I want you to bring every big and little thing to Me for help, advice, or sharing your joy! I am always available.





Prayer is the way you reach Me. Whether it's an arrow prayer or a lengthy one, I welcome all.

Don't worry if you continue to take back your worries. I am patiently waiting for you to turn them back over to Me again and again,.

I know that you'll grow stronger each time you focus on Me. I'm confident that My Spirit will continue to work in you to learn this challenging surrender, so don't think I'm upset or unhappy with you. I'll never stop drawing you into My loving embrace.

My daughter, you are valuable and precious to Me. Talk to Me often. Relate your worries to Me.

I stand ready to respond and take your burdens.

I love you.

Your Heavenly Father



This review was shared from "Partly Cloudy with Scattered Worries" Finding Peace In All Kinds of Weather By Kathy Collard Miller. She has appeared on the 700 Club and other radio and television programs and has spoken in five countries besides the United States.


Angela Doreathy Glass Watkins

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Power Up: Taking Charge Of Your Financial Destiny ... Book Review

Book Review . Consumer Credit . Credit . Finance . Personal Finance . Debt . Budgets . Personal Budgets . Cheap - Frugal . Shopping Lists . Materialism . Investing . Monthly Income . Needs vs Wants . NASCAR . NFL . NIKE . Frugal Philosophy . Economic Use of Resources . Paco Underhill - Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping . Yard Sales . Hobby Finding . Keeping Up With the Joneses . Loans . Electronic Banking . Walk - Walking - Getting In Shape . Business & Economics . Debt Management

The author (Howard S.Dvorkin, CPA) Marketing Communications/New Media Coordinator sent me a complimentary copy for review. A powerful book of options of how one may gain financial independence which comes from a change mindset & working towards some goals.

I was most honored to receive this book for it is loaded with powerful advice in an easy to understand language coming from a man of his prestige.

The publisher nor author shall not be liable for any loss of profit or any other commercial damages, including but not limited to special, incidental, consequential, or other damages.

Howard S. Dvorkin, CPA is a serial entrepreneur, a two-time author & a personal finance expert. As the Founder of Consolidated Credit Howard is one of the most highly regarded debt & credit experts in the USA & has played an instrumental role in drafting both State & Federal Legislation.

Examples of Cheap-Frugal Lifestyles from one of the author clients'

This client makes a very detail shopping list & sticks to it, & she stops every Sunday at an organic farm that allows customers to pick their own fruits & vegetables.



Howard S. Dvorkin CPA Power Up Taking Charge Of Your Financial Destiny, Books by Finance Experts




Her previous routine of buying coffee every morning has been replaced by drinking coffee at home from a coffee maker she found at a yard sale for $3 - & it was still in the box, not used.

Once or twice a month she & the family go to a pizzeria that offers large pizzas for $7.99. It feeds everyone & they all order water with lemon so as not to incur an extra expense - soft drinks & alcoholic drinks are usually outrageously priced compared to wholesale price. They are able to tip the waiter-waitress a slightly higher tip. This is being frugal.

She is actually involving her children in family finances which will have tremendous benefits now & in the future when the children have to run their own household budget. No parent wants to see their children struggle.

The frugal philosophy can become contagious. It's intelligent but it's also a difficult philosophy to adopt & sustain because we've all been programmed to spend - by TV ads, radio commercials, Internet popups & store banners that promulgate "the sale of all sales!"

Be frugal & get more for your money & more for your family. You'll be happier & have a few extra bucks in your savings account to show for it.

The above client ran into a perfect storm, of bad financial issues: She was laid off of work & was overwhelmed by medical bills as a result of an accident her child experienced. She basically lost everything but was determined by the thought of getting her financial privileges back.

She found another job & gathered other employees who lived near her neighborhood. She brought evidence, showing her coworkers how much money they could save on gas if they joined her carpool.

She did the work.

If you have money problems, you need to change your shopping habits & maybe some personal habits.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Choose to eat cereal because it tastes good, but it is also nutritious - & you need to add milk.

This is one of the items that one of my Doctors prescribed for me which is Whole Wheat Grain & or Bran.




Many times there are 2-for-1 deals, which is even better. Read the labels & determine which cereal has a good portion of protein & fiber compared to sugar. Cereal may be eaten at any meal.

You not only want to be frugal, but you also want to be healthy.

Look for lunch meat that is on sale or keep peanut butter & jelly in the house.

Most of us don't like to think of ourselves as materialistic or competitive consumers trying to keep up with our neighbors, friends, & work associates. But face it, when the guy at work drives up in a new Lexus & you're driving a 6-year-old car, that pang of envy is real.

The car becomes a status symbol, just as does a cup of java from a gourmet coffee shop.

Understand that comparing the purchase of a cup of coffee & a car is a stretch, but the point is that these things are being observed by you & others.

I read also in January of 2014 that Mark Z. - Facebook CEO is worth Billions & he does not even own a luxury vehicle - how true that is I personally do not know.

The author takes his hat off to the marketers who branded Starbucks. When a simple cup of coffee defines who you are & where you are going in life, it becomes apparent that we are in a trouble as a society. Does a cup of coffee from McDonalds exude a feeling of luxury like a cup of coffee from Starbucks?

If you're a woman you probably know what kind of perfume, lipstick, clothes, & shoes your friends wear. If they are buying brand labels then you probably are too, even if you don't make the same amount of money as they do.

If you happen to associate with people who make more money & you want to keep up with them, then you may become desperate & start using your credit cards for things that you simply cannot afford.

We are going broke trying to maintain our memberships in a perceived class of people.

Men are no different. They will be happy to entertain you by chattering about their top-of-the-line golf clubs, fishing equipment. If a neighbor down the road purchases a John Deere riding mower, you can be sure most of the men have seen it or heard about it.

CD"S are a place to put your savings for a fixed period-until the CD matures, which can range from only a few weeks to several years. Keep in mind that you cannot touch this money as you could in a savings account or other accounts, so you should be positive that you can live without the money you invest in a CD. If you withdraw the funds prior to the maturity date you may be assessed an early withdrawal penalty.

Savings bonds are a way for the government to borrow money. The purchase price is one half of the face value of the bond. Bonds are great for protecting your principal, saving for a child's education, giving as a gift, or generating tax-deferred income for retirement.

IRA's (Traditional individual retirement accounts) are unique in that they allow you to make tax-deductible contributions. Your money through the account, can be invested in stocks, bonds, mutual funds, & other financial vehicles, & the earnings grow tax-free. If you withdraw money before you turn 59 1/2, you will be penalized a rate of 10% plus you will be responsible for paying tax of the amount withdrawn.

With Roth individual retirement accounts you will not receive an income-tax deduction in the year when you make the contribution. You can easily educate yourself on these requirements of the Roth IRA by searching the Web at IRS.gov.

When you invest in a mutual fund, you & other investors will be pooling your money with the help of a fund manager. The fund manager is responsible for investing the collective money into specific securities (usually stocks or bonds). You will be paying a fee for the work that your fund manager does-namely buying the stocks & bonds that best meet the objectives of the fund.

You know what it's like to lose your money, so when you are starting over, be wise, educated, diligent, & informed. You be the boss. Be wary & above all read everything, especially the fine print. And if you don't understand something, ask questions.

There are a variety of fees that you could be charged if you aren't careful.

Electronic banking uses computers & electronic technology as a substitute for checks & other paper transactions.

ATM's are electronic terminals that let you bank almost any time. If the machine you are using is not associated with your bank, the ATM may require a surcharge, or usage fee (which may be 2 or 3 dollars). Having an ATM card or credit card in someone's hands, especially if the account doesn't belong to them, makes people do crazy things.

Direct deposit lets you authorize specific regular deposits, such as paychecks, & Social Security checks to your account. A good trick the author recommends is to increase savings is to split the direct deposit between savings & checking in a reasonable amount to cover your immediate monthly bills & forget you have the savings.

Personal computer banking allows you to conduct many banking transactions electronically by using your personal computer. You may use your computer to view your account balance, request transfers between accounts, & pay bills electronically.

Pay-by-phone systems allow you to telephone your financial institution with directions to pay certain bills or to transfer funds between accounts. You must first notify the institution to make such transfers.

A personal loan is taken out to meet your specific personal needs. The bank will have strict requirements before it lends you this money - meaning that you will need good credit, verification of income, & or proof of other assets. It helps to have a business relationship with the bank in the form of a checking or savings account.

The dealer you are working with usually can procure you an auto loan - depending on your credit history, which you will be working on improving. Taking a 4 or 5 year loan adds 1,000's to the original price. If you like two cars just about the same, the car, that has the lower APR should be your choice.

A home loan is used to buy a home, but there are many factors involved. The lender will analyze your ability to repay the mortgage based on the monthly payment, which will include property taxes & insurance on the property, plus existing monthly bills. There are many home loans, so you should be very careful & do your research to find the loan that you will not only benefit you now but also in the future.

A home equity loan allows a homeowner to borrow against the equity built up in the house. The homeowner is taking a loan out against the value of his or her home. These loans normally command a higher interest risk associated with them in terms of collateral priority.

A signature loan is an unsecured personal loan given at a fixed rate. These loans are used when you need cash for bill consolidation, auto repairs, vacations, emergency cash, taxes, or other personal financial needs.

Some people criticize those of us who try to be frugal. No one likes a cheapskate. Frugal is about being smart. Embracing the frugal philosophy. The dictionary gives us the meaning of frugal: characterized by or reflecting economy in the use of resources.

Think of a great Italian chef preparing a marinara sauce for a special dinner. The chef will use simple, fresh ingredients: tomatoes, garlic, basil, olive oil, salt, & pepper. Simple is better.

Shopping for groceries begin at home. Base your list on meals - think breakfast, lunch, & dinner for your family, whether it's five people of just you.

Plan your dinner meals according to days of the week. Maintaining a certain amount of flexibility allows you to save money.

You'll learn that being prepared & being frugal is smart. You'll save money & time.

Frugal philosophy involves time & money.

Howard & his wife plans meals that are inexpensive, easy to make, & nutritious. Don't forget to reuse your leftovers. If you have chicken from the night before - chop it up, open a can of kidney beans, warm up the chicken & beans, & make tacos or burritos - think ahead, be smart, proactive & always e frugal.

Listed in this book are examples of Monthly Income Worksheets, Revolving Credit Worksheets, Fixed Monthly Expenses Worksheets, Fixed Expense Worksheets & Discretionary Monthly Expenses Worksheets & the proper way to use them.

Your main fixed expenses are the usual suspects: car payment, mortgage, rent, & etc. These entries usually stay consistent from month to month.

Discretionary Expenses are the items that all of us don't necessarily need to comfortably exist but we purchase them anyway. This may not pertain to you or your family, but it's a lesson in using discipline when spending. Take control of these expenses - this is where the devil lives.

Most Americans suffer from the "want syndrome." Some people get so obsessed with what they want that they lose focus on their needs. They literally start to believe that they need a certain type of vehicle or brand of clothing; they make themselves totally convinced.

One of the author's favorite saying is "When the money is in your pocket, you're the boss."

The author & his wife was at an art festival & he liked a chair but the vendor wanted $360. He let the vendor negotiate against himself to get the price was comfortable paying.

The vendor told him "You are tough." He said, "Yes, I am." His wife said "You haven't seen anything yet. You have no idea what I live with." They all started laughing & began to make arrangements for delivery the next day.


Basic needs:

Food

Shelter

Clothing

Employment

Medical

Transportation

Communication

Entertainment


Howard does a very detail examples of pros and cons of how we need to budget & gives easy-to-follow options for maintaining & saving money at the same time.

Remember your hobby ideas; they could be your new source of entertainment.

Having money in a certain way is an escape from the real world. Not having money, unfortunate, has the opposite effect.

Sales aren't always a good thing unless it's for something that you "need." Sometimes abstinence is the better path. If you're at the supermarket stick to your list; if you're going to the mall make a list.

If you're a man & watch golf & see the top golfers with name-brand shirts & clubs, you probably want the same thing. The author has seen NASCAR fans (men & women) modify their cars or trucks like their favorite driver's car. TV coerces us to buy certain products & certain "looks" - as in fashion design.

Advertisers build brand identity, like NIKE & the swoosh. NASCAR is a brand; so is the NFL, just like Gucci or Chanel.

You are out to build your own brand-a brand new you who is smarter & savvier & understands that money is worth more than its monetary value. You are out to build yourself back up from financial crisis.

Materialism & coveting name-brand products is rampant in America. It's not healthy, financially or wise.

Money is to be earned, respected, & saved so that when an emergency occur, or when you need to purchase something that you really do need, you have it.

You are more than the possessions you buy or covet.

Kids watch shows where young girls, probably between 10 & 13, dress in the very latest fashions. They want the same clothes & they don't want us to buy from Kmart. Many parents fall prey to their kid's insistent pressure & buy fashions they can't afford.

In Paco Underhill's book: Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping, he calla the first few steps into a retail store the "transition zone." It's where shoppers transition from the outside world to the retail space. Make a list & stick to it; you'll save money & time.

A hobby is an inexpensive & stimulating method for saving money & expanding your horizons. The author have had clients who took up knitting, fishing, writing, reading, sewing, furniture refinishing, & other creative activities, which granted them a sense of accomplishment without having to spend much money. The idea is to stay away from the places or things that switch on your "spend motor."

We want to save money & fill up our empty time with inspiring, educational, & purpose-packed activities.

You have spare time so why not fill it with something that won't create an additional expense.

Gyms are fine if you can afford them, but there are so many methods for getting into shape if you want to take up as a hobby. Go to a yard sale & or shop that sells used products & you will probably find a workout DVD. You can walk out of your front door & use the world as your treadmill. Groups of men & women walk all the time.

when you commit to doing something that may be difficult, like getting back into shape or learning to play a musical instrument, the reward is so much deeper & the satisfaction at succeeding is uplifting.

There are so many opportunities to improve your financial, physical, & mental well-being. You just need to take advantage of them.

A young client lost everything due to a series of unfortunate issues. He decided one day that he was going to fix his car up. He purchased some car cleaning products on sale & started from the tires up-washing, waxing, & shining-until the car looked almost new. One of his neighbors noticed & asked if he could clean her car. He had nothing better to do; he could either hang out with a few of his buddies at the beach or make some extra money. So he charged her a flat fee of $75, which included the products necessary to do the job. The woman told one of her friends about the great job & soon the author's client was cleaning cars on the side. Not a bad way to use some free time.

Howard S. Dvorkin, CPA success in the personal finance industry landed him columns in Fox Business News as well as has allowed him to be interviewed by countless media outlets over the years including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, Fortune, Entrepreneur, The American Banker, Investor's Business Daily, & Virtually every national & local newspaper in the country. He has appeared as a finance expert on national & local TV & radio programs, including the CBS Nightly News, ABC World News Tonight, The Early Show, Fox News & CNN.

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Fighting For Dear Life 'Terri Schiavo': Book Review

This is not a new review. I was sent a complimentary copy of this book to review, from the publishing company while being the Baptist Editor/Host for a site between 2002 - 2006/2007.

David Gibbs defends the rights of churches and Christians nationwide through Gibbs Law Association. He is a graduate of Liberty University and received his law degree from Duke University.

David took a leap of faith in October 2003 when Bob and Mary Schindler, Terri Schiavo's parents asked him to become the lead attorney in their frantic fight to save their daughter's life. Gibbs embarked on a compelling journey that would forever change his life.

Terri Schiavo is dead.

The attorney offer three reasons why he felt compelled to tell Terri's story.



life support, terri schiavo on life support, fighting for dear life the book of terri schiavo




He was there.

He witnessed firsthand what transpired both in the courtroom and behind the scenes. He sat and visited with Terri on numerous occasions. He laughed with her. He watched Terri's family interact with her in ways nobody in the media ever saw. And, he was in her room the day her feeding tube was removed...as well as shortly before Terri took her final breath.

When Bob and Mary Schindler first met with our legal team on Monday night, October 13, 2003, they were exhausted, weary, and out of options. Terri was very much alive, but her days were numbered after being rebuffed by the court system for more than a decade. In just two days, Terri's feeding tube would be removed for the second time.

Mary expressed how stunned she was that so many lawyers from their firm had already cared enough to listen for several hours while they bared their souls - especially since they were unable to pay them anything.

From time to time the attorney has been asked why his legal team agreed to work with the Schindler's - especially given the pitfalls and incredible odds against them. In a word, he believed God called him to do this work. As his father taught him, having a servant heart doesn't always mean you do what's easy; rather, you do what's right.

Their office stayed in constant communication throughout that weekend with other legislators they knew who were also in contact with Gov. Bush's legal advisers. The lawmakers in Tallahassee channels that Terri's feeding tube had been withdrawn earlier that week and they were very concerned.

The Schindlers had a small army of supporters who were watching the news eager to help. Within hours, phone calls, faxes, and emails poured into the Senate and into the Governor's office, as nearly 200,000 concerned citizens made their wishes known to Florida legislators.

The author (attorney) knew the attorneys from the House of Representatives had flown down from Washington, D.C. to conduct last minute filings with the court on Terri's behalf; they'd be arriving at his office shortly.

Terri was in great spirits that morning. Her eyes had a brightness that seemed to complement the light pink glow in her complexion. She sat in her reclining chair clutching her favorite stuffed cat under her arm. She was wearing a pink robe and a light brown blanket covered her lap.

Public servants delayed their Easter recess to finalize the bill. On Palm Sunday afternoon, the Senate assembled on Capital Hill and, in what was a unanimous bipartisan vote of those present, passed Senate Bill S.686.

Meanwhile, President Bush, who was at his home in Crawford, Texas rearranged his schedule and flew back to the White House. Rather than wait for the bill to be flown to Texas - a delay that could impact Terri's viability, Mr. Bush sacrificially put his signature immediately over the holiday.





Sunday evening, with the President on route to Washington, D.C. lawmakers gathered at 9 a.m. in the House of Representatives for what would be three hours of televised debate followed by a vote. Terri's brother Bobby was on Captial Hill visiting with every Congress member who would see him.

The well-known story of Job comes to mind. Here was a man who had everything. But, in the blink of an eye, God permitted it all to be swept away. Houses. Possessions. Livestock. Wealth. Children. Even his health. You might say Job's wife was the original right-to-die advocate. She said, "Dost thou still retain thine integrity? Curse God and die" (Job 2:9).

When faced with the decision whether or not to remove the life support of a loved one, there's one perspective few take into view: Eternity. The author asks a question: If you knew a person who had not yet made peace with God, meaning they would go to hell if you removed them from their life support, would you still pull the plug?

Eternity is forever.

A dear friend of the author, Helen Barber, was faced with that dilemma. Her father, Sterling Johnson was a strong man who had milked cows by hand every day. Helen described him as a "moral" person and yet one who remained without Christ throughout his life.

As Sterling's health began to deteriorate more dramatically, his doctor pulled Helen aside and said "Your father is dying. He will not live fifteen minutes unless we put him on a respirator to breathe for him.

Helen also knew that if her Dad died that night, he would die without ever having trusted Jesus Christ as his Saviour. For forty years, her Dad had rejected the Gospel message, but with one more night of life, Helen and her husband would have a final opportunity to tell him about Jesus.

Helen's decision was immediate and resolute: "Put him on the respirator! Put him on anything that will keep him alive.

Helen's husband, Raymond was a pastor who had won many people to Christ in hospitals over the years, and as Sterling's son-in-law, he would do all he could.

When Raymond came out, he said, "Your Dad trusted Christ as his Saviour! "Her dad was taken off the life-support several days later. Interestingly, he continued to live and was dismissed from the hospital to go live in his own home.

Her dad lived a normal life in New Mexico for another 18 months and attended church every Sunday. His greatest regret was that he had wasted his life not knowing the full joy of a close relationship with Christ. Her dad passed away eighteen months later.

Basketball Much More Than Just A Game: Book Review

Book Review . Coach Lawrence McKenzie . Basketball . Biz - Business . NBA Drafts . AAU (Amateur Athletic Union) . Grassroots Basketball . College & Professional . Dr. James Naismith . Kobe Bryant . Michael Jordan . Healthy Lifestyles . God . South Africa . Motivational . Booker T. Washington High School . Air Force . European Leagues

Exciting book for me to review. I did also enjoy looking at the photos in this book, as well.

I am highly elated that Coach McKenzie sent me an autographed complimentary copy for review.

I would highly recommend this book for businesses, schools, organizations, parents and Churches.

Coach sometimes wonder how many parents would stick their chest out if their kids grade point average was next to their points per game.

Coach McKenzie is a Coach, Educator, Author & Speaker. The only Coach to win four straight state titles in the ninety-nine year history of the Minnesota State Boys Basketball Tournament, shares his success strategies for "winning" on the court & in life.

Basketball is a business, & a scholarship is an investment.



Basketball More Than Just A Game, NBA Drafts, Amateur Athlete Union, Grassroots Basketball, College and Professional Basketball, European Leagues, Dr. James Naismith, Kobe Bryant, Michael Jordan




Basketball is no different from other things in life; you must understand the basics before you can master anything.

The training has to be about developing the kid's skills & not be strictly a business relationship.




Business Books, Motivational Books, Business Books in Spanish, Motivational Books in Spanish



Coach McKenzie was first introduced to the game when he was seven years old; his father took him to his Uncle Stan's high school basketball game.

His college career was cut short due to a bad attitude & a lack of focus.

But as only God would have it, providing an opportunity for redemption, he would find a place for him to give back & impact the lives of young men who were just like him.


To Parents:

The costs associated with parenthood, & they are numerous, are well worth it. The McKenzies' was & still is, in some respect a basketball family. The family tradition started with Coach father, Lawrence, learning the game on the streets of Miami. He became a star at Booker T. Washington High School & later in the Air Force.

Both Coach's son & daughter followed the family tradition & started at an early age.

Being five feet seven as a fourth grader made her a pretty popular camper.

Her new passion for the game of basketball kept her busy over the next few years, playing traveling ball for a few teams, four years of high school, & three years of college before deciding that the WNBA was not in her future, & she decided to continue her involvement with the game by becoming one of the team's broadcasters. Through the game she even managed to find her prince; KO, as they call him, is a former basketball star at Norfolk State, where they both played. Coach has even coached him during their brief stint in pursuit of professional basketball careers. They got married in September of 2009.

His son, Lawrence, started early with a house league at the YMCA. Lawrence is still pursuing his dream to play in the NBA, playing professionally in Macedonia & for the Los Angeles Defenders of the NBDL until his recent injury. Lawrence is the father of the McKenzie's first grandchild, Kailah Rae McKenzie, who probably pursue the game of basketball if his son has his way.

Its important to do your best best to not become that pushy sports parent.

Coach advice is to enjoy the moment, because it doesn't last forever. Kids grow up & move out & move on.

Coach talks to his children almost every day.


Life lessons Coach shares that he learned:

Learning to appreciate the joy of victory while remaining humble, & learning how to get back up,dust his self off, & move on after the agony of defeat.

To be responsible for his own attitude & understand that he can only control him-self, to always be open to learning, & to know that life is about serving others so that the world might be a better place.

Basketball is a game that is played by nearly three million people worldwide, ^ an estimated forty-five million in the United States. It is one of America's most popular sports but is also a very popular sport in other countries as well. It is a very culturally diverse sport & has opened up new doors all across the world, bringing foreign players to America to play the game at its highest level.

Michael Jordan, the most recognized player to ever play the game of basketball, has made it an extremely popular sport.

James Naismith was challenged by Dr. Luther Halsey Gilick Jr. to create an indoor activity as an outlet for sometimes unruly groups of students during the long, cold winter months in New England.






Naismith's challenge was to create a game that could be played by artificial light.

On January 18, 1896, the first college basketball game was played with the five-man format in Iowa City, Iowa. During the game, the University of Chicago defeated the University of Iowa, 15-12.

James Naismith 13 Rules of Basketball are listed in this book.

The game that Coach McKenzie once played for fun has blossomed into a multibillion dollar industry where kids are used like chess pieces so that adults can be crowned kings or queens.

The business of basketball includes selling sneakers, specialized training, traveling basketball, recruiting service, youth associations, & more, but it strides on selling pipe dreams through the magic of smoke screens.

The 5th Dimension used to sing "You don't have to be a star to be in my show." Today everybody has to be a star!

For Coach it started with the purchase of fifty-dollar Jordan shoes for his three-month old son. It continued with anything advertised or worn by Orlando Magic & Penny Hardaway.


Michael Jordan ...

"If you're trying to achieve, there will be roadblocks."

If you put in the work, the results will come.

Michael Jordan play to win, whether during practice or a real game.

... Michael Jordan


These major events become our family vacations, which generate dollars not only for the organizers but increase revenues for hotels, restaurants, & malls.

The NBA Drafts only sixty players each year, with a limited number actually making the team.

So often he has seen parents investing in training when they should be investing in a tutorial course for reading or the standardized tests.

The reality is that only two out of every 100 high school athletes will ever play in college, & only 1 of every 12 thousand high school athletes will ever become professional players.



Healthy Lifestyles, Nutrition, Food, Recipes, Health



The AAU (Amateur Athlete Union) is one of the largest sports nonprofit organizations in the United States. Founded in 1888 with the purpose to establish standards & uniformity in amateur sports, it administers thirty-two different sports. Proof of grade & membership are required.

Grassroots basketball, is much like the subprime mortgage market, making up the rules as they go along, & always in the interest of making a dollar. The former NCAA President, Myles Brand, describes it as the dysfunctional world of youth basketball.

TV analyst Len Elmore, who played college & professional basketball, graduated from Harvard, & is now the executive of Ihoops, has been quoted as saying "that shoe companies spending has thrown youth basketball into turmoil."

As a smart athlete you must be willing to ask yourself this question: Do those claiming to care really have my best interest at heart?

The best kids usually play for free, & others pay 1000's to finance the team with hopes of being seen by North Carolina, Kentucky, or Duke.

College basketball is big business. It's megamillion - dollar coaching contracts & selling sports apparel in team colors.

Corporations pay as much as $100,000 for a thirty - second ad during the early rounds of NCAA tournament. The NCAA television deal is worth $6.1 billion over 11 years for TV rights.

Every year during the NCAA tournament, Richard Lapchick of Diversity & Ethics in Sports (TIDES) at the University of Central Florida releases the graduation rates of the participating teams in "Keeping Score When Its Counts." Last year his study found that 64 percent of the teams participating in the NCAA tournament graduated 50 percent of all its players, but the percentage of graduation for African-American differed by 31 percent.

We spend so much of our lives chasing dreams, trying to capture the desires of our heart, with very little time appreciating our Creation's blessings.

A couple of years ago Coach lost his father, & while he was fortunate to spend some very memorable moments with him, he often find that he thinks about the things they didn't get a chance to do.

Besides Thanksgiving, when was the last time you thanked those special people who have touched your life & told them how much you have appreciated what they've done?

Coach & his wife was blessed in 2006 to travel to South Africa &, in particular, Bostwana, with Athletes in Action, as part of the Sports Ministry team. They actually celebrated their twenty-fifth wedding anniversary on this trip.

The trip was a blessing for him, it made him appreciate a great country like the United States, in spite of its shortcomings.

He witnessed orphans infected with HIV & kids looking in trashcans for their next meals.

He met a young Christian pastor, Gary Pelotshweu, who he continues to communicate with & plan on assisting with building a school to be used by young kids.

So while you chase your dreams don't forget to thank those people who helped you along the way.

With two children, Coach & his wife sometimes passed like two ships in the night while traveling to opposite sides of the city.

Back when his daughter was playing AAU & he coached her team, they qualified for Nationals in Memphis, Tennessee. It was an inner-city squad, full of talent but short on cash & opportunity.

They didn't win the tournament, but the trip wasn't a total loss. He took the girls to talk to the Coach at the University of Memphis. They also visited several historical sites, including the National Civic Rights Museum, where they sat on a replica of the Montgomery bus that Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on. They also toured the Lorraine Motel, where Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., was assassinated, & a house turned museum that the slaves used in the Underground Railroad. Some girls, including his daughter,got letters from interested Colleges.

While a teacher has the responsibility for inspiring & molding the minds of our children, they are probably the least appreciated.

As students, we often fail to acknowledge the contribution of our teachers until much later in life. As for me I came from a long family line of educators - preachers - pastors.

The scholarship includes tuition, room & board, & other fees, but players are rewarded by receiving some of the great coaching, medical care, first-class treatment for injuries, trips to exotic locations during the winter, free tickets, media relations, & hopefully one day a very good job.

If parents are looking for financial assistance, they should be aware that it's been estimated that there are thirty times more scholarship dollars available for college academic scholarships than there are for athletic scholarships. The higher the grade point average, the more opportunities exist to have a scholarship offered.

In the end, academics should always be your priority because when you have played your last game its the educated students who would be the ultimate winners.

Very little time is spent watching the game, kids these days aren't really fans of the game. They're fans of some of the players in the game: Lebron, Kobe, Dwayne Wade, KG - the big names.

It is said that no player or coach spends more time studying his opponents than Kobe Bryant. Before each game you will find him with a portable DVD player watching clips of the players he'll be guarding in that particular game. He's looking for just the slightest advantage.

The greatest players are the ones who have mastered the most basic skills. We have begun to see more & more Europeans players being drafted into the NBA & the expansion of the league overseas primarily because of their style of game.

If you want to mimic a style, look at the European leagues, whose players have a flair for the fundamentals. They have some of the best players because they've gone back to the basics.

Coach Randy Brown, a former college coach at Iowa State, amongst other, suggests that kids need to learn forty basic basketball skills. Included in this book is 40 Skill Development Checklist with a brief breakdown of each position.

Kobe is just good; he's not a good guard or forward. He's good, period.

Jay-Z didn't drop Reasonable Doubt, his debut album until he was twenty-seven. He understands that while the world is a rush, true greatness takes time!

Teachable translates into being coachable.

It starts with recognizing that you don't know everything & being willing to learn. The book of Proverbs says, "In all you do get wisdom & understanding."

Coachable players want to get better & understand that when they are coached it's for their own good & the good of the team.

One thing that stuck with Phil Jackson when he was hired as Chicago Bulls assistant coach was Red Holzmans statement, "It isn't about how great a star player, is himself, its's about how great he makes the player around him." Michael, being coachable, transformed his game from being a scorer to learning how to beat teams without having to score. Even the greatest player in the game allowed himself to be coached.

A truly coachable player has the ability to separate the truth from fantasy.

If you don't believe in you, then why should I or anyone else, for that matter?

Believing is about faith, & faith is holding onto that which you can't see.

The word no is engrained in us. So we learn to play it safe & not take risks.

But when you believe in yourself, you have the power to make positive changes. As they say in Star Trek, "You can go where man has never gone before."

Your mind is your power! We often don't take advantage of the power within us. If you want to be successful, then watch your thoughts. Stop thinking like a chicken when you were created to be an eagle!

The world can be cruel; it places labels on you & tell you that you are not the right color or maybe you don't dress right or maybe you're too short or too big or maybe you talk differently, & we listen to it & start to believe it.

In October of 1998, Coach was hired as an assistant coach at Minnesota Patrick Henry. He was warned that it was a bad job; for the kids lacked discipline & had very little talent.

Coming off a season of being beat in the first round off the sectional play-offs, the school hired a well-known youth pastor who previously coached girl's basketball named Efrem Smith. He was introduced to Efrem in Church & asked if he needed any assistants & was offered the opportunity to volunteer.

Efrem Smith coached with Christian principles & shared Bible lessons to back them up. If God be with me, who can be against me?

Prior to the this game they were coming off one of the biggest runs in Minnesota basketball history with 3 straight state titles, led by standout guard Khalid El-Amin.

On a Friday night in a crowded gym their kids began to understand what it meant to believe. Mike Pettis, was having the game of his life, kept them close, every kid was shouting "I believe, I believe" at the end of regulation in a huddle.

Coach McKenzie was hired as head coach, after Coach Smith left to take a youth pastor job in Dayton, Ohio. Led by three juniors, Johnnie Gilbert, Greg Patton, & Tony Travis, they would return to the state tournament his first season,only to lose in the quarter finals that year.

Their mantra "Refuse to Lose" was born, & in 2003, Minneapolis Patrick Henry joined Southwest Minnesota Christians as the only two teams in state history to win four consecutive titles, all because they learned to believe!

Your attitude can either be your greatest asset or your greatest liability.

It is the foundation of becoming a champion, whether on the court, in the classroom, in the community, or in your family.

For so many coaches the emphasis is skill development, & very little time spent on developing the right attitude & character.

Their daily practice was known as the patriot creed; they repeated it before every game. Nine steps explained in this book. Awesinwe!


Loving to live starts with the understanding that each of us is truly special, made in the image of our Creator.

Successful people want to be around successful people, while misery loves company.

Coach once read if you want to be a millionaire, find one to hang out with, & it makes sense, because they're making deals with people like themselves.

Surround yourself with dream makers not dream killers, not those whose only contribution to you is to bring nothing but negative energy.

Coach understands the pain of young people making bad choices; one of his former players is currently serving life without parole in a California prison. It only takes fifteen - to twenty -seconds lapses in judgment to ruin your life & change your future.

He was an outstanding student-athlete who excelled in football & basketball - a star quarterback & a three-time state champion in basketball. He had star qualities, & he earned a basketball scholarship in pursuit of playing in the NBA.

Young people are faced with challenges that he couldn't even imagine - the lure of hip-hop culture, the information superhighwway, & the influence of music videos & mass media.

When you love to live, what you eat & don't eat becomes important. If you don't take care of your body, it won't take care of you.

Not only is your diet important but so are proper rest & exercise.

When you love to live, you know that you cannot put chemicals into your body.

In a 1968 speech in Atlanta, the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., spoke the words, "Everybody can be great because everybody can serve. He went on to say, "You don't need a college degree to serve. You only need a heart full of grace, a soul generated by love"

Coach's grandmother, Pauline Jones, a very spiritual woman, was there for anybody with a need, whether in the Church or the in the community.

His grandfather, William Jones, served as the neighborhood handyman.

His mom & dad, Lawrence & Retha McKenzie home was where relatives & friends came to relax, get a meal, or to lay their heads. His sister Paula is a nurse, helping those that are sometimes in their weakest moments, & his sister Carla is an administrator with the school system.

Coach was blessed to marry a woman with the same values & upbringing. They ended up taking his niece & nephew after his wife lost her sister to sickle cell anemia.

So when that final horn sounds, & you've scored that last basket in the game of life, Coach hopes your final stats will read as you being the type of player who not only had the ability to score, but was always willing to provide an assist, & your dash will say you were truly a champion.


Coach McKenzie successfully inspires to motivate audiences everywhere to enjoy, achieve, & go from the sidelines to become true players for your business, Church, school, or organization.










Saturday, November 30, 2013

Holy Spirit Led Prayers .... Book Review

Book Review . Holy Spirit led Prayers. Pray . Prayers . God . JEHOVAH . Jehovah Rapha . Jehovah Shalom . Jehovah Jireh . Lord . Jesus

I would highly recommend a study of The Doctrine of the Holy Spirit so you will better be able to fully appreciate this book.


Dr. H. L. Wilmington & Olabisi Obideyi



My pastor conducted a study with us from around December 2012/January 2013 - November 2013 in this area. I also studied on The Holy Spirit for a quarter in 2007 with our Church.

Now, do I always listen and wait on the The Holy Spirit to lead me and guide me? No, but I am doing better.

This book contains Scriptures from the Old and New Testament such as: Matthew, Psalm, Revelation, I & II Chronicles, Isaiah, Luke, Jeremiah, Job, Nehemiah, I Corinthians, Romans, Titus, John, Deuteronomy, Ephesians, Mark, Hebrews, I John, Lamentations, Daniel, I & II Samuel, Colossians, Genesis, Ecclesiastes, Proverbs, Numbers, Philippians, Zechariah, II Corinthians, Exodus, Jude, and Acts of the Apostles.

Prayer is the only effective secret spiritual weapon that can protect us against the wicked will and intentions of the fallen angels and no man can have this power except that they are in perfect unity with the Holy Spirit.

When you pray, don't be like the hypocrites that love to be seen and heard of men. (Matthew 6:5).




Books by Cindy Jacobs, Olabisi Obideyi, Eddie Smith, Alice Smith




To have use of God's power and authority we must have a personal relationship with HIM. We must obey and abide in God's Word.

Through Christ's perfect atonement of our sins, we acquire benefit of reconciliation with the Holy Spirit of God when we repent from our sins.

There is only One True God and One Mediator between man and God and this is Jesus Christ. As true children of God, we do not just call upon the Name of God when we want something from HIM, we call on HIM to worship, praise and reverence HIS Name which is above all other names.

God's Resurrection answer for mankind came in the form of Jesus Christ. We obtain resurrection power through Christ's death on the Cross and HIS subsequent Resurrection. God's Word is life and truth and Christ as the True Word of God revealed as the Resurrection and life and no man is alive in their soul without the living Christ dwelling in their spirit.

You must acknowledge Christ (Romans 3:23), Confess (I John 1:9), Repent (Mark 1:15), and Believe (John 3:16; Acts 16:29-34) that Christ is the Risen Saviour and Died for ALL Mankind and Sits at the Right Hand of God.






Oh, Lord my King how mighty is Your Name.

Your Spirit is Holy and Your Goodness endures forever.

You are the Great I AM, the Hope and strength of the weak.

You are JEHOVAH Rapha my Healer.

You are JEHOVAH Shalom my Peace.

You are JEHOVAH Jireh my Provider.

You are my Joy, my Power and my Shield. You have ALL Power and Authority, KNOW ALL, SEE ALL, and Present Everywhere At The Same Time.

Feed me daily with your Word and cover my soul with Your Protective Shield and Light.

Protect me daily with the Redemption, Atonement and Remission Power that is in the Blood of Jesus.

Renew my mind daily with Your knowledge of life and enrich my soul with Your wisdom.

Break every yoke of sinful relationships and destroy every ungodly contract of the enemy.

Remove every obstacle from my way and bring down every Goliath spirit seeking to prevent me from occupying the kingship position you have destined and ordained me to occupy.

By Power and Authority of God, I possess all the possessions destined for my use on earth.

Replace blindness with Your Supernatural Vision. Replace loss with Eternal profits and gains.

Prompt me daily with Your Divine Love and teach me to joyfully thank, praise and worship You All the days of my life.

Prevent me from falling into the enemy's wicked trap and equip me in Your Divine Wisdom to always rise above the wiles of the devil.

Help me to avoid corrupt communications and order my will to operate in Your Perfect Will.

Deliver me from foolish ideas and stimulate my mind with Your Perfect thoughts.

You are my healer who healed all my infirmities and in You no sickness shall have power or dominion over me. Lord Jesus You Are my King and Ruler and in You only I am assured of Eternal Life of rest, peace and everlasting joy.

Your Goodness and Mercies follows me everywhere I go and I am forever highly favored and blessed.

Favour me in my daily trials and overcome negative natural circumstances for me with Your Power.

Nullify the evil terms and conditions of dead covenants and segregate me completely from poisonous dead end flesh relationships.

By Your Grace You gave Jacob a Ladder to heaven and through Your Heavenly Ladder You placed his children in line of Your Heavenly inheritance Will. By Your Grace You delivered Israel from Egypt and turned their enemies into dust for them to trample on, and parted the Red Sea for them and met their needs in the wilderness.

You Magnified Joshua for Israel to see that just as You were with Moses so are you with him. By Your Grace, You transported Elijah from earth to heaven with Your Chariot of fire. By Your Grace, You Promised Esther, Daniel, Gideon and the likes of them - in the land of their captivity and through Your Work of Grace upon their life the ungodly testified to the fact that their God is indeed the Only One and True God. By Your Grace, You removed the veil cover of darkness from the eyes of Saul and changed him from Saul the persecuted to Paul the faithful servant. By Your Grace You gave him knowledge of Your Saviour and Resurrection.

By Your Grace, You gave us Eternal Life and we see that Lucifer is forever defeated by the conquering Power of the Lamb.

Pastor Olabisi, is the author of this book. Pastor holds an LLBC (hons) degree in law. Pastor is the founder and Senior Pastor of Freedom House International Ministries.

Saturday, November 23, 2013

Independently Raising A Man (Single Parenting): Book Review

Book Review . Real Life 101 . Single Parenting Insight & Tips . One Income . Healthy Lifestyle . Positive Environment . Child . Children . Responsibilities & Challenges . Love . Inspirational Thoughts

Very inspirational book to own.

I thank Shondreka, for sending me an autographed copy for review.

We all have made mistakes, and I would like first to commend her for carrying her child full term, instead of an abortion. I am not promoting premartial affairs.

The moment you find out that you are pregnant can be the most terrifying, and yet most exciting moment of your life. It is not until the day that you hold your beautiful baby in your arms for the first time that you can realize how great that change can be.

She never wanted to place herself in a position to end up as a single parent. She thought she had it all figured out. Life has a way of throwing a curve ball. The key to moving forward and pushing through a struggle is your attitude.

Know that both you and your child are valuable worth the best life has to offer. If you are in a negative or harmful situation, keep in mind that you and your child deserve more than what is currently being brought to the table. Your heart will not put food on the table and clothes on your child's back. Start saving and get into a place where you and your child can live peacefully and that you can afford by yourself.

Shondreka, Little Miss Health fanatic would gain seventy pounds during her pregnancy. Her diet was healthy and very sensible. She craved tomatoes and also Kosher pickles. Too much of anything, healthy or not, will cause weight gain.

After her handsome baby boy was born, she set a plan of action to lose all of the baby weight in a healthy manner. After having her baby, money was tight so buying a whole new wardrobe in the new size was not a feasible option for her. Her meal routine consisted of a healthy breakfast, lunch, dinner and healthy snacks throughout the day. Within three months of having her son, she lost forty pounds and within six months she lost the remaining thirty pounds. She drinks lots of water and try to stay away from sodas. She limits her fruit juice, because it is high in sugar. She don't deny herself sweets, this keeps her from straying.

Living a healthy lifestyle does not mean you can't have sweets, it just means you have to have them in moderation.


Independently Raising A Man Thoughts From a Single Mothers Perspective, Shondreka Palmer, Single Parenting, One Family Income, Budget,Child Development


You don't have to be a celebrity to get your pre-baby body back. Anyone can do it with hard work and discipline. Be sensible and try to keep your food choices as healthy as possible. Allow your baby to have the nutrients he/she needs in preparation for making his/her entrance into the world. The bundle of joy you get in the end is well worth the sacrifice.

At times, the burdens that come along with being a parent, especially a single parent, ,especially a single parent, can be very overwhelming. Children are a blessing from God and you should treat it as such. Don't just be in the same house as your child; spend valuable time with your child/children. Be creative. Be a part of your child's.


A part of being a phenomenal single parent is taking care of yourself and your health. Sometimes you just have to stop, take a break and enjoy life. You always want to be responsible and do the things that are important and need to be done.

Be positive. Be grateful and happy for what you do have. Your attitude and outlook on life will over into your child's attitude and outlook.





Budget! Budget! Budget! An absolute must when living life as a single parent.

Whenever possible, save energy and teach your children the same habits. Keep the bills low as possible, electric, gas, water, etc.

You will have to learn some smart ways to save money and shop for your child.

Sometimes as a parent you don't want to see your child grow up. Arm yourself and be ready ahead of time.

As a single parent, your disposable income is very limited, so get into the habit of spending your money wisely. You never want to put yourself in a situation where your child has nothing to wear and you don't have any money to buy clothes or shoes needed at that moment.

Don't forget about yourself when browsing resale and thrift stores. You can also save money on your clothes and find some great slacks, jeans, dresses and tops.

Groceries are another very important life necessity for you and your child.

Buy store brand items. The long term consequences of a life of unhealthy eating habits are not worth the short term savings benefit.

Use coupons. Only buy items that you actually use. Become a wise grocery shopper, and cook meals at home.

Being on a budget does not mean you have to sacrifice your appearance. The key is to adjust to what your current lifestyle allows.

Life is going to happen; no one is immune to unforeseen circumstances.

Children will try to get over on their parents. Don't fall for it.

Implementing rules and boundaries within your child's life is so important to their growth and development. Allowing your child to do and say whatever they feel is not doing them any favors. Love your child enough to want to teach them by providing the necessary guidance.

We are our children's first teachers.

It is important to remember that children need discipline and structure.

Discipline is not yelling at your child. Encourage your child often.

Discuss with your child/children what is expected at home and school daily.

Place your child on a consistent schedule.

Children need plenty of rest.

In order to support you and your child, you have to work. Take the time to research the facilities and teachers who are going to care for your child/children. Check with the State Board for any penalties or violations.

Select a daycare that models the same morals and values as you do.

Be conscious and watchful.

The first step to being a successful single parent is taking care of you and maintaining a great mental health.

Smile! Make the choice to be happy. Your main focus is and should always be your immediate family - you and your child/children.

Watch for family and friends that are constantly negative. Ignore and remove yourself from negative conversation or situations.

You have a purpose in this life. Don't allow someone else's insecurities or jealousies break you down and confuse you. You are a child of God.

You should have a couple of true genuine friends to confide in and who are truly "Team U" during the good and bad times.

Shondreka is happy and her state of mind is at peace and she feels great! She's still standing.

Be strong, happy and secure. You are on the right path to success so push harder and keep going no matter what.

Take care of your health as well. There is no reason why you can't have some mommy-me time and enjoy yourself, once you have everything together.

Take a mental break and do something that you enjoy. You might go to the movies, out to eat with a friend, maybe on a date, or any activity you enjoy.

Treat yourself to something nice. Men, this includes you too!! Stay within your budget. You will not always be restricted to a tight budget. With God, faith, a positive attitude, a plan and being proactive you will reach all your goals and dreams.

Never leave your child with an irresponsible adult, whether family or friends. Your child is a treasure and should be treated as such.

Be patient with your child/children.

Don't forget to take the time to enjoy life with your child. You never know what true unconditional love is until you have your first child.

Shondreka Palmer (Author) compiled her warm inspiring thoughts and insights on being a single parent.